Fire detection of transformer and generators 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

plutonium11

Electrical
Dec 28, 2021
HR
Hi everyone!

I got a request to make designs of fire detection system of transformer 10/0,4kV and power generator 10kV. Location Europe. As I have little or no knowledge in designing such fire detection (I designed a lot of residence projects) I seeked for a help from equipment manufacturer (fire detection) and I got some solutions.

However, I would like to hear experiences and other thoughts from electrical engineers itself, but not only from sales persons.

How do you make early fire detection of transformers or power generators?

Thanks and regards.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

On the generator side, there are a lot of "it depends" that go into the decision process.

Smoke detectors are almost worthless, as normal maintenance activities and minor mechanical issues can cause low levels of smoke in engine rooms.

Heat detectors are better if properly placed to monitor for abnormal enclosure or space heat.

Most data center systems I work on use optical flame detectors or a form a video image detection tied to their security systems.

This is from a website of a company I have worked with in the past,