Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Fire pump and Tank 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

sac32079

Mechanical
May 27, 2011
US
I have a campus that I am designing a fire pump and tank for. I have an ESFR system along with various OH GP 1 & 2 systems. The hose requirement for the ESFR is 500 gpm. Do I have to add the hose for the 750 gpm standpipe system thats going to be installed in the OH building? Or would you think that the the ESFR system is the most demanding? Also there is a hydrant attached to the pipe entering the tank and a hydrant on the pump discharge side outside of the building. I have never done a design like this before and it seems to be a little confusing to me. I have no guidance here and i dont want to fail. I just need a little bit help understanding these requirements.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You will satisfy NFPA 13 and NFPA 14 if you system can fight one fire at a time (ie either the ESFR system or the OH2 system).

If you are installing private hydrants, the building code won't tell you what the design flow rate from the hydrants should be and what the spacing is. You can get some hydrant system specifications from a fire code (like NPFA 1 or the International Fire Code) but these codes are generally not mandatory. You should talk to the AHJ about hydrant requirements.

I am not designing the hydrants or the layout of them. The ESFR & OH will be in two different buildings, so fighting the fire one at a time shouldn't be an issue. With that being said, a combined standpipe and fire sprinkler system with a .20 shouldn't be as demanding as the ESFR correct? I have been designing for 8 years. I have now just got hired on as a senior designer and when i have questions my boss lacks the ability to help. he was grandfathered in instead of earning his NICET.

The ESFR will probably be the most demanding case, but it's possible for the OH building to be higher.