First field assignment - looking for advice 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

caenright

Civil/Environmental
Feb 28, 2018
US
Hey everyone.

I'm a fairly junior civil engineer and have been assigned to assist and be involved in the field construction of grade for some railroad track, and have never been assigned any field work in the past. I am looking for some help and advice, both on logistical needs and what I should know and be prepared to do. I know there's a bit of a stereotype for junior engineers being more of a problem than a help on jobs and I would like to avoid that as best as I can.

My questions:
[ul]
[li] What should I have with me? PPE is a given, I assume I need the plans and specifications, but should I bring anything else?[/li]
[li] What am I expected to do on a day to day basis on the job site? [/li]
[li] What am I expected to know? Should I spend some time researching anything specific before heading out? [/li]
[li] Any good recommendations on the field work overall?[/li]
[/ul]

Thanks in advance for your help. I think this is a great opportunity to gain a practical understanding of reality vs plans and don't want to waste it or be a problem.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

if you are "assisting" than somebody else is in charge. that will be your new supervisor and he will assign the tasks. you should be asking him

when you arrive, check in with the construction manager / resident engineer, at the trailer before you step foot on the site. bring your lunch

If on a railroad job, there may be more specific rules for PPE (steel toe only, no safety toe boots; no green vests, etc). Bring your boots with you, and any other PPE you've been issued previously by the company, but they may have a new vest or hardhat for you at the site.

The most important things to know are: