Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

FL Engineers - Collaspe result in changes

Status
Not open for further replies.

ash060

Structural
Nov 16, 2006
US
As a florida engineer remember hearing about the possibility of having the SE become a new credential at somepoint, but it didn't make it through the legislature. And now with this condo collaspe bringing so much attention to engineering, was wondering how this will impact the practice in the future, with the possibility of creating the SE credential or something else entirely.

I believe the threshold inspection law was created in response to a collapse back in the '70s or early '80s, will this result in changes to engineering practice in the state?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm not a Florida engineer, but I am an engineer that grew up in Florida, so I'm interested in the topic.

Politics aside, I'd be surprised if this resulted in a significant change in practice. If they find fault in a detail that is still used/allowed by current codes, then I could see an update coming, but I don't know about a new credential. While it seems like there may have been some design errors, on the whole this structure stood for quite a while and faced some pretty significant environmental loading (it survived Andrew, right?). It seems more likely that the cause will be poor maintenance and failure to execute repairs, though the need for them may have been exacerbated by the design. If this were a relatively new building or it failed during a hurricane or other 'design event' then yes - I'd expect the root causes to fall more into the designer's lap and result in changes to the profession.

The most likely candidates for change will be the inspection procedures for mid- and high-rise buildings, how much scrutiny they receive, and how the recommendations of the engineer/inspector are enforced.