Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Flat Patterns in SolidWorks

Status
Not open for further replies.

majora

Industrial
Apr 19, 2006
US
Hi everyone, I'm new to solidworks so please bare with me. I'm running SW 2006 in my work place, and I would like to know how precise the flattening command in solid works really is. I work with sheet metal and I need to figure out flat patterns for a lot of parts, I'm hoping that SW can cut the time it takes me to figure out the bigger parts with multiple bends. I figured out how to flatten the parts, that's no problem, but I still need guidance as to how to use it right and if I can trust the flat pattern it gives me to put into production. Could someone please explain to me any tips, tricks, or point me to a website with good info on the subject. Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You can select the type of calculation to produce the bends. (Bend Table, K-factor, Bend Alowance, Bend Deduction). See the SW Help file index for bend for details.

So to answer your question, the flatten function is as accurate as you care to make it. Lofted Bends being an exception.

[cheers]
Helpful SW websites FAQ559-520
How to get answers to your SW questions FAQ559-1091

Majora,

I use SW to make sheetmetal formed and blank parts daily. I use a K-factor of .5 and a bend radius of .015". I add a derived configuration of the formed part for my blank. I select "Flange Outside" for the flange position selection when adding edge flanges. The guys who run the press brake tell me the formed parts are very accurate to the print. We use aluminized steel with thickness ranges from .036" to .057".

Yanceman

Search these forums, this topic has been beat to death over the years. Also, SW Help is very useful.