Flat slab bridge thickness 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

tmalik3156

Structural
Jun 21, 2021
CA
Good day.
I was told to look into a conceptual design of a simply supported flat slab bridge.
That is, a bridge consisted of normally reinforced slab only, and no girders.
It can not be a portal type frame, it must be simply supported. It can not be prestressed / post tensioned.
The span is 20.3 m (66.6 feet).
How do I estimate a thickness of this slab? Is span divided by 20 a reasonable assumption? But that will be a huge thickness. On the other hand, a smaller thickness will give unacceptable deflection at the mid-span.
I have never worked on a girder-less bridge before. So any suggestion will be helpful.
Thank you

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Type of loading might affect it.

And type of design, RC , PT?

If you are a bridge designer you should be able to some quick numbers in about 5 minutes!

L/20 might be too thin for many cases!

There really is no rule of thumb for solid slab bridges of that length. Generally, they're considered uneconomical, both in material costs and labor costs. A voided slab or box girder bridge would be much lighter, much less expensive to build, and probably not any deeper than the solid slab. A CIP concrete T girder bridge would only be slightly deeper.

Just curious, why no girders, prestressing or postensioning?

Rod Smith, P.E., The artist formerly known as HotRod10

@ rapt: Thank you for your reply.

@ BridgeSmith:
Why no girders - local NU girder manufacturer seems to supply span larger than 25 m. This bridge is only 20.3 m
nu_cfqzmz.png

Why no post tensioned voided slab - local jurisdiction suggest solid section for small spans.
void_lufury.png

Girders don't need to be precast. Form them, conventionally reinforce, and cast in place. A uniform thickness slab spanning 20 metres is wasteful.