Float switch issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patattack

Electrical
May 9, 2018
IT
Hi.

Sorry I'm new to electrical circuits, I am sure that my problem can be solved by a single over the shelf module, but I can't seem to find one.

I have a water tank with a float switch, and this float switch is connected to a contactor. At points of filling or draining, and the water level reaches the float switch, the switch turns on and off incredibly rapidly, cauing a real commotion at the contactor.

I was just wondering, is there some sort of module that only allows an 'on' signal from the float switch if it is constant for a set duration of time (say, for example, 5 seconds?) and not allow any current through if that threshold has not been reached?

Thanks in advance guys,

Patrick

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The conventional solution to this problem is to use two level switches, one to latch the contactor 'on' at a pre-determined level and the other to de-latch the contactor at a second pre-determined level. The basic circuit is the same as a two-button motor starter but with level switches in the positions of the start and stop buttons.

What Scotty sez is a fine solution but, in reality, you should just put in a properly functioning float switch correctly. Modern float switches are all designed with a large amount of hysteresis to completely prevent what you're seeing. If installed correctly that simply can not happen. They typically have a conductor ball that has to roll thru an hourglass shape to make contact and to shift the center of gravity further to the on or off position. Then, until the tank level has changed by more than a foot (and this is greatly adjustable) the reverse can't happen.

However, if this is some sort of small couple-of-gallon lab type tank with a rigid float and switch then use two floats and a flip-flop scheme as Scotty suggests.

Keith Cress
kcress -