Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Floating Slab vs. Stem Wall Foundation for Grain Storage bins 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

lindsaylu

Structural
Jun 29, 2011
CA
I have been asked my opinion on what seems to be a rather large floating slab. The problem is that I am a steel connection/erection engineer and have little to no experience in the Grain bin foundation field.
The bin is 48'(diam)x74'(wall height) with corrugated steel walls (Sukup design). We're assuming 4000 psf soil capacity. The initial numbers (from consultant) are of a floating slab with a max diameter of about 56'(inside diam of donut is 40'). This doesn't fit the area the owner wants to put the bin, so we're wondering whether a ring wall or stem wall foundation would reduce the footprint of the foundation. Seems to make sense to me, but the EOR has said it typically doesn't.
If someone could give me a little insight into this process I would really appreciate it. Even a yes or no would set the record straight.
Thanks,

Lindsay

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Try omitting the hole in the center?
Try a square slab rather than round to fit the property better.
Check with the geotech to see if there are other options- higher bearing at deeper depths, or use piers, or possibly higher bearing with increased allowable settlement.
If the design does not allow partial uplift with wind loading, consider removing that restriction.

Using very rough numbers- 110 pcf product, 54' of product height (assuming 20' of clear space under the hopper)- You would have 10,750k of product. Based on 4000 psf soil bearing, you would need almost 2700 ft^2 of contact between the concrete foundation and the soil. This equates to a 52 ft X 52 ft footing.