Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Flow Meter / Computer generated reports

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChickenEngineer

Mechanical
Feb 17, 2005
US
Ok, I'm a mechanical engineer but I need to install some water meters.

I have 2 4" water mains coming into my plant. They are flowing approximately 500-700 GPM each and are at 80 PSI. I would like to install two meters and feed the data into a computer to generate water usage reports for set time periods. My first step is finding meters, probably with a 4-20 ma out put.

I have heard there are meters that "piggy back" on the city meters and the only specification I need is they are 4" lines. I've looked far and wide for there water meters, but I can't find anything that looks like they piggy back off of city meters. Any input? What are they called specifically?

Any input on a software program that can handle this? I would rather not have to write my own...

Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am sorry I do not understand the phrase "piggy back on the city meters " but however I would take flowmeters with RS232 output and link them directly to a PC.This way instruments can provide more information compared to 4-20mA output: units, self diagnostics and error messages and you can switch ranges, fit instruments inherent signal smoothing etc.
M777182

Well, the way it was explained to me was the city has their meters they read on the lines. They are roto-type meters that are screwed into the top of the lines. I've heard there is a type of meter that we can unscrew the city meters, place this meter in it, and screw the city meter back on top of it. All the meter does is read the same rotation that the city meter is reading. It's basically just a switch that closes every time the city meter makes a rotation.

I've had it explained to me that these exist, but I wasn't given the name and in my search for meters I can't find anything like this...