Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Foreign experience is useless??

Status
Not open for further replies.

hunt401

Geotechnical
Oct 21, 2004
US
This question might not draw much attention from forum users, but I need some serious advices before I waste too much of my time.
I am an international student who is about to complete Ph.D degree and find a job in the U.S. My bachelor degree was from a foreign country, but I received a Master's from a state university in Ohio, and also expecting a Ph.D degree from the same school. After the master's, I worked for an engineering & construction company in my country for 4 years as a geotech engineer. That company was among top 20 international contractors by ENR, and most of my work were involved in huge international construction projects in south asian countries.

When I applied to some big name engineering firms in the U.S., I realized that many of them don't credit my experience from the outside of U.S. It could be understandable for small local-based companies, but I never thought that my foreign experience was practically useless to get a job in the U.S. In addition to this problem, many also think that I am overqualified with a Ph.D degree.
I want to stay in the industry and do more practical work, but I am very confused right now if I ever find a job other than faculty positions at school. Any advice or recomendation will be appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you