Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Former employer is my first client 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jay156

Structural
Apr 9, 2009
US
Hi, so I was laid off, and figured it was a good time to start my own business. Now my former employer has a little bit of work, and I told him what I was doing and he said I couldn't come back as an employee and still pursue work on the side, but he would hire me on as a subcontractor. I'm sure some of you guys who have started your own business have had the same thing happen.

So my question is, how much do I charge him for my services? I would expect my fee would now be higher as I have to pay for E&O insurance and I'm not assured of a continuous salary. He used to charge our clients $70/hr for my time, and then my salary was $34/hr. So what is a reasonable fee? $60? $50? I'm really new to the business part of this thing, so any advice on other things I may be overlooking would be appreciated too.

Thanks

Jay

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I haven't run into that particular situation before...

Seems like it could get sticky unless there is a good understanding and relationship. That being said, since he is your first, a break in fees could be a win-win situation here. Also, depending on things, there is the old saying to keep your friends close and your enemies closer.

What do you feel is warranted here?

Mike McCann
MMC Engineering
Motto: KISS
Motivation: Don't ask

2.5 to 3 times what you were getting paid and if you are providing the same services.

You will be paying higher taxes (self-employment tax), unless you are working on a W-2. You also will be paying your own medical insurance, etc. Account for any bonus, 401K matching, medical premium, profit sharing, vacations that you may have been getting on top if just $/hr salary. Who pays for office supplies, printing, etc?