Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FORTRAN check particle distance to centre of an object.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kututo

Materials
May 29, 2014
GB
Hi,

I am quite new to FORTRAN and am currently making programs to gain an understanding of it.

I have made a program in FORTRAN 90, this spawns particles in which then land on a plane. What I would like to do is to check to see if any of the particles are within any cylinders in a line. If they are then I would like to keep them, if not then I would like them to be deleted.

I have thought about how this could be achieved. I have the centre points of the cylinder and the radius (ie. xyz for centre of the top and xyz for centre of the bottom, and a radius value). I thought that the centre of the particle with the radius could be compared with each co-ordinate of the centre point through the cylinder, and then to see if it is within the radius of that point, thus within the cylinder.

Please could you point me in the direction of a tutorial which teaches how to code this, or give me some guidance of how I can achieve this?

Thank you for your time, I really appreciate it.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Sorry to post on the thread I made before other people have posted. I have worked out mostly what I need to do.

I have 3 co-ordinates for the top and base of the cylinder, such that the base is 1.00, 1.00, 1.00 and the top is 1.00, 3.00, 1.00, with a radius of 1.00

The generated particles have a co-ordinate for the centre as well as a radius value.

For the Y co-ordinate (yP(i)) it would be:
IF (yP(i) > 1.00 .and. yP(i) < 3.00) THEN
!Test the x and z values (with radius?) to work out if they are in a cylinder
IF ((xP(i)+r(i))) THEN