FORTRAN - Severe File not found error. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

gprog

Computer
Jul 7, 2016
IT
HI,

I have a FORTRAN executable that works perfectly in Windows XP, however when I execute the same in Windows 7 , I get the following error

forrt1: The System cannot find the file specified
forrt1: severe <602>: file not found.

I tried using the process monitor to look for the files the executable is using but of no avail.

Any help on this is appreciated!

Thanks in anticipation.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Can't you just add print statements to identify where you are in the program before it throws the error?

Otherwise, you need to copy all the potentially relevant files from the one computer to the other. You can also try renaming likely folders until you throw the same error on the old computer.

TTFN
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!
faq731-376 forum1529

Thank you for your reply!

The problem is that I do not have the source code for the executable. It has no support files or folders.

If i copy the EXE anywhere in an XP PC, it works whereas in a Win 7 32 Bit or 64 Bit PC it throws the following error

forrt1: The System cannot find the file specified
forrt1: severe <602>: file not found.

I had used PROCMON to track the file(s) its looking for but not able to trace anything in particular.

I am not a FORTRAN programmer, but you could try a few of these ideas:

1. right click and run as administrator

2. compare your windows PATH on the old and new computer.
Control panel / System / Advanced system settings / environment variables / Path.
Or you can just go to the command line and type path
see if there is something in the path on the xp system that you might need on windows 7 system.

3. I'm not sure if you need some sort of FORTRAN runtime library installed?