Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Foundation Design for Prefabricated metal Building

Status
Not open for further replies.

KHTODD

Agricultural
Apr 11, 2010
US
I'm a General contractor that has recently ventured into the prefabricated metal building market. I live in rual NC and have found that Agriculture can be a large part of my prefabricated building market. In NC Farm operation building projects do not require building permits. The building manufactuer provides engineered drawings as well as column reactions on the prefabricated structure itself, but no foundation design. That being said we all know its about the bottom line as well as liability exposure. In order to be more competitive in this market, how can I take the reactions provided by the manufacturer and calculate a suitable foundation design that will will be adaquate as well as cost saving? Comprimising the integrity of the finished product is not an option.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

KHTODD...first of all, you are to be commended for asking the question. As a contractor, I'm sure you know that many of your competitors wouldn't ask...they would put in what they think would be necessary...either way over designed (wasteful, but safe) or way underdesigned (potentially unsafe and prone to property damage).

Given that, I would suggest that you engage a local structural engineer to help you. The reactions can range from low to high and affect the soil bearing and the footing design. Even though a building permit might be waived for agricultural buildings, you still need to follow the building codes (NC State Bldg Code).