Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Foundation saddle loads due to OPE/HYD/wind/seismic

Status
Not open for further replies.

satheesh787

Mechanical
Aug 28, 2014
AE
Hi all,

I am new to PVelite software.But i am to verify (vendor document) Pvelite design report for my project.

[highlight #FCE94F]Can any one explain that saddle loads (i.e.vertical/transverse/longitudinal shear) due to OPE/HYD/wind/Seismic cases separately generated from PVelite software?[/highlight]

In my current report,Saddle loads due to operating/Hydro-test case have been generated & Followings have been noticed

In OPE case report,
Saddle reaction force due to wind Ft & Fl and due to seismic Fst & Fsl is done.
In HYD test case report,
Only Saddle reaction force due to wind Ft & Fl is done.

In both case,summary of load has been given with vertical/transverse/longitudinal shear loads.

I am bit confused about how summary loads arrived at each cases in report.Can anyone elaborate this checking methodology?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

satheesh,
No one would bother to go in technical details for something you are completely out of your world. Worst still, you have accepted to do an engineering review for a design you have no idea what it is. Have the decency and tell your managers that for the sake of saving a few lives of plant operators, you will not review the pressure vessel calculations. Do not endanger the life of fellow humans with your incompetent selfish act, that you call engineering.

Hi

Thanks for your advise for my first ever post in this website.