Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FPSO - Key Loads Basics 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

NickParker

Electrical
Sep 1, 2017
NL
Im an Electrical Engineer and new to Oil and gas. The below listed are some of the main loads of the FPSO which I got to know from the Key One line diagram. I would like to know some basics of the below loads like what does it do? when does it operate? sequence of operation? which of the load operate during normal production? which of the load must run during non production? etc?
Can any one help me out or point out to the correct document on the internet to refer to..

1. Sea Water Lift Pump
2. Produced Water Recycle Pump
3. Cooling Medium Pump
4. Water Injection Pump
5. Water Injection Booster Pump
6. HP Feed Pump
7. Produced Water Re-injection Pump
8. Injection Gas Compressor
9. Main Gas Compressor
10. CO2 Gas Compressor
11. VRU Compressor
12. LP Service Pump
13. Heating Medium Pump
14. Crude Oil Pump
15. Electro Static Treaters
16. TEG Reboiler Electrical Heaters
17. TEG Lean Circulation Pump

Thank you!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm making a few assumptions here, but basically everything you list is needed when you have flow coming up the well bore into the FPSO and not needed when the wells are shut in.

It all operates together as a combined process.

The only "optional" thing might be what looks like the seawater injection system and water injection.

In a crisis I guess they might be able to flare the gas instead of reinjecting it, but that's not normally permitted nowadays and is bad economics.

In very simple terms.
As the Crude oil / gas / water mix comes up from the reservoir, the components are separated in one or more separators.