Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

frangible roof tank as per api 650

Status
Not open for further replies.

MMiyan

Mechanical
Dec 11, 2014
IN
Dear Sir,

I have start working to design a tank of dia 7000mm and height 8000mm. There is frangible roof joint requirement as per data sheet. please suggest the design of tank and if possible please provide any ref. calculation and drawing.

Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Dear JStephen,
I am new in designing tank as per api650. Please also suggest/advice the following points.

1. If material of construction of tank is titanium than how to select the stress values ( Sd, St ), because table 5.2a does not cover this material.
also min. yield strength and min. tensile strength.

2. As per my above question my tank has 7m max dia( given in data sheet)it means its OD is 7m, or we use 7m as ID. Please advice.
3. Since roof is frangible then it falls in clause 5.10.2.6 as dia is 7m. but this clause does not has roof thickness calculation formula, what process we use to design roof. Please advice.

Thanks for your valuable suggestions.

Titanium tanks are not covered under API-650.
From a design standpoint, it won't make much difference if the nominal diameter is taken as OD, ID, or centerline of plate. That's a detailing issue.

Dear JStephen,

Thank you for reply. Please also advice or arrange the frangible roof design calculation and drawing.

Thanks

static2,

I can answer your question regarding frangible roof design. A tank with a diameter of 7m (23'-0") cannot have a frangible roof per 5.10.2.6. You will be required to provide a vent capable of relieving the emergency venting set forth in API 2000.