Freeze Fit bushes in composite 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

martymcp

Aerospace
Jan 29, 2007
FR
Hi,

My name is Martin and I am a junior stress engineer working in research. I need some help as to what are the effects of freeze fit bushes in composite structures. Can any one help?

Cheers

Martin

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Interference fit (mechanical, freeze fit, etc.) bushings/fasteners/etc can cause delaminations on installation if the amount of expansion is too high. What type of composite structure (material, thickness, etc.) and what type of bushes (material, diameter, etc)?

Steve

Freeze fit seems OK. Don't overlook thermal stress and final fitup dimensions. You're intention should be to maintain desired clearance under operations. I had misery with this under hot conditions.

The stucture itself is a large double lug arrangement ideally 20/60/20 composite about 90mm thick with an intial Al-Brz bush of inside diameter around 105mm. I will be looking at the thermal effects also to check the feasibility of the design but I am not sure what to expect. Has there been much work on this topic before?

Thinking out loud, I'm curious to the benefit of a freee-fit. Composites aren't so hot in bearing strength, since you're more or less trying to push a string. That leaves your matrix (a polymer) to take the thermal loading. But, an issue of polymers is stress relaxation. Hence, the bushing will loosen with time. Hmmm....

i think the point of the bushing is to distribute the loading into the composite, particularly with a soft bushing. ... there's a thought, what's the material of the pin, steel ? is that a good idea ? what about material compatability ... is composite (maybe graphite) compatable with Al-Brz ??

i hope you're not going to lay-up the fibre, then cut the bore through the cured material (cutting all those fibers). I think it'd be better to lay-up the fibers around the hole.