Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulLag

Mechanical
Jul 26, 2013
IT
Hello Everybody
Hope you are fine and safe

Please, I apologize for the most experts, but it has passed a long time since I dealt with electricity lessons as well I am not an expert so that I kindly ask for your help.

I have red this thread, too

But allow me to write you my question and my concerns

I have recently being offered to buy a refrigeration system (meaning compressor,fans, controllers, some other low voltage electrical stuff) working @60Hz in US voltage (meaning 115V-220V-460V) to move it in a 400/3/50 230/1/50 territory

My first thought is that this system won’t work as in US tension, then I thought that at least it would be necessary to examine all the electrical characteristics of the system, as nameplates data of all the compressor and other equipment, examining if it can work at different voltages.

My concerns refer to the passage to a frequency that is lower than the original (I assume that all components in low voltage should have problems, the high ones should run slow) and to the fact that the system won’t be designed for the new Voltage frequency combination.
In the best case, changing the tension, it would give a lower performance but I fear in the long time It would damaged.

Again, these assumptions are based on long time concepts, they may be wrong.

The reason I am writing in the forum is to kindly ask for an help, concerning some practical hints to mind concerning this kind of topic, or if anybody has ever experienced similar requests.
It would be of a great help if somebody could kindly recommend me some practical literature that would help me to increase my knowledge about the topic

I'd like to thank you all in advance, stay safe

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

See faq237-1224.

xnuke
"Live and act within the limit of your knowledge and keep expanding it to the limit of your life." Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged.