Front & rear camber gain and RC migration difference 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

JOMMMM

Automotive
Nov 14, 2018
US
Hello everyone,
I’m new in suspension design. I have been looking for the answer for my equations, but I couldn’t find anything really helpful. And it has been in my head for while. If anyone can help me please:

I can understand the location of the initial roll center can affect the weight transfer and grip level. I set rear RC little bit higher than front as most car dose to give better transition.
People saying you need to minimize the RC migration. I guess the reason is if RC changes too much, the grip level will constantly changing and make the driver hard to predict the car? But if grip level of front and rear are changing at same rate , I don’t think it is too bad for driver? Am I right?
Camber gain effects RC migration. If we have a car with different front and rear camber gain, will this make the car behave very weirdly? For example, we start with initial RC of rear a bit higher than from, and because the camber gain is different between front and rear, during cornering rear RC drops to a point which lower than front RC. And the car will have different oversteer and understeer characters all the time. Will this be possible?
If I had any English mistake or if my understanding is wrong. Sorry about this.

Thank you
Yikai

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Better to specify what type of vehicle, what lateral capability of vehicle, how much roll is expected and axle configuration (independent, solid, etc.), weight distribution and range of tire properties. for example, if roll per lateral g is low and tire camber stiffness is low, worry about some other aspects of the suspensions. 3 other combinations of these terms. If it rolls a LOT and tire camber stiffness is very high, then you might start to consider getting more serious about it, IMHO. I suppose your understeer budget ought to be considered first.

Hello Cibachrome,