Not open for further replies.

kingnero

Mechanical
Aug 15, 2009
BE
Volvo_XC90_yjwbwt.jpg

Just saw the above image on LinkedIn.
As a welding engineer, I'm wondering:
1) is it correct, that the fromt suspension turrets are in aluminium, (cast/deep drawn?)
and if so,
2) how are they connected to the steel frame (conventional welding isn't an option, that leaves deformation joining, fastening using bolts or rivets, adhesives, ...) ?

I'd say these are fairly high (cyclic) loaded parts, so aluminium seems not logical, but on the other hand I have zero experience in car frame, unibody or chassis design, so there's that if this is a stupid question...

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In the one that I know about, those are castings, and they are attached to the adjacent parts by a combination of adhesives, rivets, and folding the edges of adjacent steel panels around the edges of the aluminium part to encapsulate the adhesive and then spot welding the assembly in place. Tesla has something like this in production although that's not the one I've looked at.

Thanks for confirming this exists at least. It still strikes me as an odd materials choice for that particular place/application.

Are there a lot of attachment points? If so then maybe the aluminum is there just to have some material near the areas of attachment.

The strut tower and the area just forward of it tends to be a complicated structure welded together from several smaller pieces. Doing it as a casting lets a bunch of that be built as one piece and yet incorporate even more attachment points for odds and ends like battery, windscreen washer bottle, coolant reservoir, electrical distribution block, etc. You'll notice that the rail structure underneath it - which is part of the frontal crash structure - is still steel. The curved structure above it, also steel, is for low-offset frontal impact.