Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Fuel filter location?? Why?? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

thatdamengineer

Agricultural
Oct 20, 2008
US
While I realize I am just a lowly Agricultural engineer who has never designed a tractor, I have built several pieces of farm equipment and restored my share of antique vehicles, trucks and tractors. I cannot understand why anyone would attach a fuel filter on top of the fuel tank between the tank and the vehicle body where the tank would have to be removed or lowered to change the filter, no access door is provided in the body. My 1999 and 2003 Dodge Grand caravans have to have the fuel tank lowered about a foot and unbolt the fuel filter from the tank and disconnect the lines from the tank. The filter replacement has 3 formed plastic lines attached that are more than 2 ft long. With the ethanol blend fuel that is nearly impossible to avoid, the filter has to be changed every 6 months. This requires the vehicle to be on a lift with a suppport under the tank, or raised sufficiently for a person to get underneath and lower the tank by unbolting the tank straps, and supporting the tank to prevent kinking or tearing the plastic fuel line, while unbolting the filter from the fuel tank!! Not to mention the other risks to fire from having to have a drop light to see what you are doing. The replacement filter alone costs over $20, the labor ranges from $50 to $165 if performed by the dealer. This has to rank very high as one of the dumbest designs for a very simple part. Why could there not have been a threaded can type filter mounted in the frame or in an accessible place as used in GM trucks?