Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Fuse Sizing for 3.75/4.68 MVA Transformer 23/4.16kV. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Uquresh1

Electrical
May 17, 2010
US
I have no experience with fuses (other than some fuses on radial distribution lines); I need some help coming up with the fuse size to protect a 3.75/4.68 MVA distribution Transformer. The fuses obviously are on high side (Delta 23kV) and the low side is Wye-grounded 4.16kV. I have looked into using 125E, 150E, and 175E S&C fuses, but don't know what the actual criteria is for coming up with the fuse size based on Transformer data. Transformer Z=6%

Since there is no other form of protection (breakers, relays, etc) on this transformer, I am a little more concerned. Your help would be really appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In my opinion, well interpreting NEC Art.450.3:
According to NEC Art.450.3 [Table 450.3(A)]:
If it is a unsupervised locations if Z<=6% the primary fuse rating has to be not more than 3*Irated[300%].Here is a note:
"1. Where the required fuse rating or circuit breaker setting does not correspond to a standard rating or setting, a higher rating or setting that does not exceed the next higher standard rating or setting shall be permitted."
The rated current has to correspond to S[rated apparent power]used to state the short-circuit impedance Z.I think S has to be 3.75 MVA and 300 A has to be the fuse rating.

I would plot the transformer damage curve, inrush current, cable damage curve, short-circuit current, downstream and upstream protection devices on the TCC and size and coordinate your fuse accordingly. Do not exceed 300% of the transformer rated current as 7anoter4 stated.