Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Fuselage Cutouts and Skin Doublers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Allanon81

Aerospace
Dec 1, 2009
US
I'm a stress engineer working a particularly challenging/interesting problem. We're working a modification to a CL-605 fuselage where a customer wants us to install a service panel, but wants to avoid the use of external doublers. The cutout in the fuselage would span one frame bay and cut one stringer. Our structures design team wishes to install machined c-channel type structure around the edge of the cutout to reenforce it. The idea is the shear that normally would have been carried through that section of skin would be beamed up to a back panel using the machined structure.

I'm looking through Niu and find plenty of examples of cutouts with external/internal doublers installed, but nothing about being able to reinforce the hole using and internal structure.

Is this even possible/practical? I'm thinking that the internal structure will have to be pretty heavy to beam those loads up and not buckle.

Let me know if I can provide further details.

Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

anything's possible given enough Aluminium and enough electrons (to analyze it).

you Can frame the cut-out ... longerons would extend a couple bays either side of the cut-out ... i'd also reinforce the next stringer. i don't think you can reinforce the strgrs effectively (if you back up the existing strgr, how thick is the skin ?? how big a rivet can you install ??). so i think you're into replacing the strgrs with heavier sections.

surprised (as no doubt you are) that the customer is adamant against external dblr. what about a sneeky internal dblr ?? which you're already removing the strgrs, why not ??