Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Gage Calibration 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

AmeristarQA

Mechanical
Mar 22, 2007
US
During our last ISO Audit, our Auditor cited us because we did not have our Squares, calibrated. Employees use these to monitor the angle of the parts after forming or bending. I have always used the rule if you are making a decision about the part based on the measurement you are taking then it should be calibrated. However I have lots of squares on the shop floor and would take months to calibrate all of them. What are some ways the rest of you handle this.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have been a quality consultant for years developing automotive supplier and then ISO/TS systems.

The 3rd party auditing firm was correct. Each of the squares on the shop floor must be in your gauge log and confirmed and I would suggest yearly. That should not be a big cost factor then.

Here is how I would do it.

Have 1 square confirmed by an outside calibration firm and retain the certificate on that square. It will now be the master square in your plant and not used for anything else except for calibration purposes.

The remaining squares will be confirmed using the master. If one sees light through the squares as the kiss back to back, then the shop floor square must be replaced.

Remember, place both the master and the square on the granite table. Push them together so that the vertical squares are touching each other. Look for light.

3rd party auditing firms cannot tell a company how to confirm the calibration so perform it in the easiest, most effient way possible.

Hope this helps.

Dave D.