Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Gas Chromatography Detector

Status
Not open for further replies.

qca2003

Chemical
Oct 13, 2003
ID
I would like to know some opinions on the following question :
1. When We should be used the following detector and what is the difference ?
- FID = Flame Ionization Detector
- TCD = Thermal Conductivity Detector
- FPD = Flame Photometric Detector
- FTD = Flame Thermionic Detector
- ECD = Electron Capture Detector

2. How to select the suitable carrier gas for Gas Chromatography ?

3. What is the difference between Correctected area method, absolute method and internal standard methode for gas chromatography ?

Best regards.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have some experience with FIDs, TCDs, and gas chromatographs. Also photo ionization detectors(PIDs). Most of them were designed for the natural gas industry.
The FIDs were mainly used in open environments for leak detection. They burned, within a closed cell, a mix of hydrogen and some inert gas, with a sample pump to bring in outside air through a probe/hose. Any hydrocarbons present in the sample would ionize as they burned, giving you an indication. They were fairly sensitive(accurate in the 10 PPM range), but would easily get contaminated with petroleum distillates.
PIDs worked in a similar way, only the ionization of the sample would occur with ultraviolet light. Many of these models were intrinsically safe, allowing use in a confined environment. The disadvantage is that they had to be calibrated for the specific hydrocarbon you're looking for.