Gas Hydrate Concern -- Need real world experience 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

processeng2014

Chemical
May 21, 2014
US
Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone could weigh in on the subject of "when do hydrates REALLY become a problem". I need real world experience with gas production to balance what ProMax is predicting for hydrate formation.

I am currently studying a gas pipeline which will be transporting about 5 MMCSCFD (12,750 lb/hr) at lower velocities (5-20 ft/s) underground for about 10 miles. The ground temperature is expected to reach 60 F, and ProMax is giving warnings about hydrate formation being reached around 67 F.

There is about 20 lb/hr of water entering the pipeline with the gas, so even if this does "freeze", will it really make a difference in actual operation? Will the hydrates necessary plug the pipeline or can the be entrained and moved with the flowing liquid? Do some operators "roll the dice" and see if a problem exists before deciding to inject methanol?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hydrate prediction is far more dependent on pressure that assumed ground temperature. You didn't say what pressure you were planning to operate at.

I see hydrate problems in surface manifolds and in roadbore casings with double vents. Rarely see hydrates form in pipe buried in dirt.

Is the water entering the line in liquid form (doesn't participate in hydrate formation) or as water vapor (which would equate to about 96 lbm/MMSCF which is consistent with fully saturated methane at 67F and 150 psia).

I've seen office engineers specify prophylactic methanol injection, but I've never seen anyone who has ever seen a field install it. Methanol is horrible stuff (the MSDS sheet gives me nightmares) and injecting it because of some simulation is reasonably irresponsible. Beyond that, I've never seen it work. We inject it into places where injection is convenient and it accumulates in the first low point.

David Simpson, PE