General approach to the plastics selection for molding

Status
Not open for further replies.

sinus45

Electrical
Dec 7, 2020
CA
Hello everybody!
I'm new to the plastics design and I have maybe strange question.
We have made a consumer electronic device design for customer and made molds and parts out of ABS plastic. It's so happens that some parts are bend after assembly and create about 0.5 mm gap in undesirable place(they actually should create some tension, but not that big, plastic cooling also deforms parts a bit). My idea would be to try few different materials like ABS with 30-40% glass fiber, SEBS, PC_ABS. I would like to see which materials for manufacturer is easier to acquire and mold few pieces out of those materials. It should show me how the color will change and if all assembly will work well together.
Is it weird idea and I should simulate everything in CAD including deformations or it sort of normal practice to explore different materials on factory? the project budget is quite low...

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

- "I should simulate everything in CAD including deformations " Yes, as much as you can. See if you can duplicate the problem you are getting with the ABS parts.

I would assume that the cost of a short run of parts would be multiplied if you wanted multiple materials. Each material change will result in a fair amount of wastage, because the injection barrel must be purged (emptied) of the prior material before running the next one. Also, good mold designers will design parts and molds for a specific material; the mold you have may not work well at all for some other material type. Lastly, ABS is probably one of the cheapest materials, and easiest to mold, relative to the others on your list (with the exception of SEBS maybe, but why would you want something softer?).