Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

General Boiler Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

wzal

Mechanical
Mar 18, 2004
US
Hi,

I am new to the commercial and industrial heating business in North America and have some questions.

Is boiler using coal very popular in North America? Or is oil or natural more popular?
I am reading a book about stationary engineer and the book says stationary engineers have to look at the water gauge every 8 minutes to make sure there is enough water in the boiler. I am a littler suprised at why it can't be done by a liquid level switch or something.
How is the situation in the real world?

I hope someone in the business can give me some idea.

Thanks,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Coal is seldom used due to enviromental "doogooders" belliacking about sulfur and particulate emissions.
Power steam boilers are fitted with two low water cutoff devices and these are connected to an audible alarm as required by Insurance and State regulations. In the event of low water condition, operator is to shut down unit immediatelty and let itr cool down on its own. Operator must not introduce cold water otherwise if tubes and drums were overheated they will deform from steam pressure and sagg from their own weight and putting in cold water will set tubes and drums in the deformed position with no chance of them returning to their normal conditions had they been left alone to cool down by themselves.