Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

General tips for recent graduate looking to move to the US and find job 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

cuttycut

Civil/Environmental
Dec 15, 2022
PL
Hey, so a few things about me, I studied and currently live in Poland, have a masters degree in Civil Engineering and im looking to move to the US fairly soon and start my career there. I grew up in the US so i have a citizenship and speak fluent english so no problems in that area. I have about 6 months of work experience with basically all of that being on site working as a field/site engineer (idk what the exact job title would be called but i was basically the construction managers right hand man assisting with everything). I really enjoy working on site rather than in the office so thats where i would like to start working when i move to the US, more specifically Chicago probably. I got my education evaluation from NCEES back and im missing about 3-4 hours in Math/Science and General Education. Do I need to get those hours before finding a job or would I be able to get one without it and get them later on. Is the FE exam something i should be looking to get asap, even though im searching for an on-site job rather than a design job? Any other general tips like where to look for a job, what salary i should expect, look for big or small companies, anything at all is greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you