Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Geo-Structural Shoring Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

Geotech_Pavement

Geotechnical
Sep 21, 2020
US
Hi. Is there anyone here who does or has done before both geotechnical (investigation report, recommendations, pressure distribution, passive resistance, etc)and the structural aspects (draw the force diagram and design the structural member)for shoring design ?

I am a geotechnical engineer and interested to get into the structural design aspect of shoring. It seems very interesting and also lucrative since it is so specialized and high risk. I practice in California, and the norm in the industry here is to have a specialized small structural engineering company doing the shoring design. I have never seen the geotechnical engineers do the structural shoring design.

I want some tips from experienced structural shoring designers for advice to get into the design and business. Is this something I can learn on my own ?

I actually did my undergraduate degree with strong emphasis in structural engineering, so the concepts are not foreign to me and I have a strong engineering background.

I really appreciate your input.

Thanks

Alex

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

With a good textbook, you can learn the basics of shoring design (sheet piles, walers, tie backs, etc.). However, it would be better if you had a mentor, or perhaps an independent engineering firm, to review your calculations.

DaveAtkins

Things like DeepEx are used un the US I think. but the US guys will need to advise.

In the UK we use Oasys software, GRETA, ADSEC etc.

Or many just use excel spreadsheets. The calculations are very straight forward so structural software are often not needed. You definitely need geotech software to extract your bending moments, shear force, prop loads etc.