Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Geodetic Reference Systems, TRX, INDIR, Distance Calculated

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonathan2

Materials
Mar 12, 2015
CA
Hello,

I'm a materials engineer so i don't have a background or any schooling in geomatics and haven't bothered to do much reading in the field. I've been messing around with some online applications provided by the government of canada.

Particularly the TRX and INDIR application.

I set myself the following problem:

Compare distance calculations between 2 points using INDIR and TRX application tools

Point 1: N53d 32m 31.63s 113d 39m 9.06s ** W positive
Point 2: N53d 25m 59.66s 113d 35m 9.25s

The results I get ("hopefully i didn't make any stupid data entry errors")

INDIR: 12899.428
TRX: 12899.049 (converted lat/long --> UTM --> distance = sqrt( (x2-x1)^2 + (y2-y1)^2 )

I got a difference of 379 mm between the two applications and am not quite sure why... perhaps a geomatics engineer can shed light on the findings or my stupid entry error.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

okay i've done some reading...

it appears TRX and INDIR are based on the same ellipsoid so thats a good start...

"The NAD83 is an earth-centered datum based on a newly defined ellipsoid – the Geodetic Reference System of 1980 (GRS80) – and its reference point is the center of the earth, as opposed to a point on the earth's surface."

I used GRS80 in INDIR and NAD83 in TRX...