Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Geotechnical Engineer's "Must Have" Library 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

millerbrun

Geotechnical
Feb 24, 2012
CA
Hello everyone,

I am a brand new engineer and have just over a year of experience in the geotechnical field with a geotechnical consulting company. I'm wondering if I could get some feedback as to what books I should stock my shelves with for useful reading/reference material for a consultant like myself?

Because I'm new, the sort of projects that I get my hands on are generally retaining structures and the sort. When I get further in my career and can specialize, I would hope to be involved with geohazards (landslides, debris flows and the like) or possibly specializing in rocks masses for tunnels and such.

The only geotechnical book I have on my shelf at the moment is Fundamentals of Geotechnical Engineer by B. M. Das, which I hear is one of the "must have" books already, and I am quite fond of this book.

All feedback is greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

P.S. I have seen some other posts with this topic already, I am not incapable of finding them, I was just hoping to get slightly more customized input on my situation. Cheers

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Any publications by the following authors are a must have:

Fethi Azizi
Alfreds R Jumikis
John Cernica
Leonardo Zeevaert
F.D.C. Henry

Best way is to examine it in a library and then wait for it to be listed on Ebay. This will take you few years but it will give you a chance to become familiar with the books you already own.

I have mentioned this before but will again as it's relevant and potential cost savings....