Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Geotechnical: Uplift/Heave in top-down construction 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ffinybryn

Structural
Mar 17, 2010
GB
I am an Engineer working on a soon to be (very) multi-storey building.

The contruction method is "top-down". Steel plunge columns are piled deep into the ground to allow steel erection to start from the ground floor upwards, whilst at the same time, excavation of the top-soil can continue downwards to create 3 basement floors. This saves a lot of time, not waiting for the basements to be concreted before starting steel erection.

The problem is: Steel erection in one area began before the ground excavation started, whilst later areas were erected during/after the excavation of thousands of tonnes of top soil.

Surveys now suggest that the initial areas of steel have risen by 10mm, whilst the later areas are unchanged.

I have suggested to my surprised client (who does not believe steel can go up) that it is as a result of heave ("A" level Geography).

I have Googled the subject briefly, but cannot find anything to back up my theory. As far as I am aware, water tables or soil types are not a factor.

Can anyone back-up my theory or put forward a lay-man explanation to suggest why this has happened. Luckily, another company had a "level datum" in the first area, which has also "uplifted" by the same amount.

Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't understand fully the different construction sequences between the 2 areas. Lets call B3 the lowest basement floor, then coming upwards we have B2, then B1 then 1F floor (US style) then continuing 2F, 3F etc.

Am I correct so say: