Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Getting Hired by an Engineering Firm? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bigwiggz

Mechanical
Oct 4, 2012
US
Hello Everyone, I want to work for a mechanical engineering firm. I am at the point of sending out resumes. I am a licensed Mechanical Engineer with 3 years experience in light commercial HVAC system design as "volunteer work" for a religious organization. I have another 3 years experience in electrical switchgear/switchboard design. I was thinking about sending out my resume with a proposition because I know that work is slow here where I am at (Central, South Carolina). Please see part of my sample proposition below.

• $36,500 dollars per year salary or the equivalent in wages
• Work (3) 12 hr days for a total of 36 hrs per week
• Or Work (3) 10 hr days for a total of 30 hrs per week
• Will be available to answer questions/calls for the other 2 days for the week
• No health insurance, 401K or Company Stock needed
• Willing to buy proprietary hardware/ software needed to perform job functions (i.e. Trane Trace, AutoCAD, HAP, etc.)provided that I get to keep it ($5,000 limit)
• Willing to discuss other work options as well

My questions are the following...

1) Do you think that it is a good idea to send out the above proposition with my resume?

2) What has helped you or what other advice would you offer to increase my chances of getting a job with a MEP firm?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

forget the proposition.

you seem to have set the bar a bit low, dont you think? that will not inspire confidence to hire you. Your asking salary is only a fraction of entry level salary once you add in the benefits.

you need to be willing and able to work full time as an employee. you should expect they will provide benefits as well as a computer and any necessary software. they will expect you to show up in person every day i would think.