Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Getting solid models online

Status
Not open for further replies.

jvo1

Mechanical
Nov 28, 2005
US
I do my 3D Modeling in Inventor 10, and would like to get these solid models online. I want people to be able to download the solid model, and rotate it as needed. I'm relatively new to the process, but have been experimenting with .stl extensions, but that seems to leave the model completely unconstrained, even if I myself open it. Also, in one attempt at an assembly, I even ended up with all the parts merging into a single part, which was very odd.

The next step would be allowing the downloader to move the parts of the assembly that are allowed by the constraints, i.e., for a simple example, if there was a bearing around a shaft, the bearing could still rotate in their model.

Lastly, the mostly complicated goal (I dont know if it can be done) is to allow the downloader to download a single assembly, but by suppressing some features and unsuppressing others, have them be able to be able to look at multiple versions of the same product.

The primary goal is to get the solid models online and able to rotate. I'd appreciate any help I can get, or even a kick in the right direction. Thank you,

JasonE

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Thanks for the quick response, but can you go into anymore detail? It would be most helpful. Thank you.

DWF is short for design web format. It was developed by Autodesk. In the part, assembly, or drawing envirnoment you can publish DWF. There is free viewer software available, along with a plug in for IE. Anyone with the viewer can view your model and get a good look at it, without being able to know whats really going on. How do you then upload them onto the internet? I have no idea. You can get a lot more info on DWF by pressing F1 in Inventor (help), or online at