Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

GM 6.6 Duramax turbodiesel 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

MKhan01

Automotive
Dec 1, 2010
US
Hi,

I am doing research on a turbo vane sensor for the 6.6 GM Duramax. The sensor rides on a cam which entail reads the position of the vanes. I am curious to know how hot that sensor will get. If the EGT is about 1200F, and the turbine housing is 1200F then wouldn't the sensor which is bolted to that housing be 1200F?

Also a generic question, what temperature does the turbine shaft reach at the bearings? Typical engine oil is 250F maximum before breaking down. Does the temperature drop down from 1200F to 250F at the bearings using oil as a form of coolant and lubrication?

btw I am a mechanical engineering student!

Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'd say you have
1) a heat transfer problem. If the EGT is reasonably the high temperature, there's a gradient that the heat follows away from the hot side of the turbo.
2) a homework problem, maybe. If it's a homework problem, it's not for here.

There are thermal gradients everywhere.

When the turbo is working properly, the exhaust gas at the exhaust manifold interface may reach 1300F, but the exhaust gas exiting the turbine may be at 800F or less. The turbo turns heat into mechanical work.

The bearings are roughly midway between the turbo, which is of course hot, and the compressor, which is much cooler. If the bearings haven't coked, they are probably running within the oil's limits.