Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Got the Job offer, now what? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

supersv6

Mechanical
Aug 22, 2008
AU
Hi All,

I'm a mechanical engineer graduated in December 2006 and have experience (1 year) working in a large facility management company with the head office based in Melbourne, Australia.

Cutting the long story short, I have recently applied for a graduate position (also known as the Graduate Program) at my parent company and was offered a position a few days ago. I've analyzed the job offer, and want to negotiate a few points mentioned in the offer, and have a few questions for those with experience.

The position requires me to be moving to a rural country area for three months initially and was told in my interview that my accommodation will be paid for, and also so-called 'living away from home allowance'. In the offer, I will be given only one months' accommodation and there is no mention of the 'living away from home allowance'. I'm not too fussed about moving from city to a rural area, however there is no way a landlord will give me two months lease for a property. A standard lease is one year in Australia. Do you think it is fair that the company fork out the entire three month's accommodation?