Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

GPS or Total Station?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oson

Structural
Dec 7, 2004
HN
Hello:
I am not a profesional land surveyor but I have been reading a lot about DGPS giving such a great accuracy in the 3 sets of coordinates (x,y,z), I wonder what do we need a total station for?.
Would it be enough to get my 3 readings out of the point that I am interested in, and process that information?.
Will the Trimble R3 give me accuracies in the order of 1:4000 for closed traverses?. What do I buy?.
Thanks
José

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Neither am I, but it would seem that there are still some advantages to using a theodolite.

Consider that the British, in their inimitable way, were able to measure the height of Mount Everest to within 200 ft of the modern value using ONLY transits and measuring chains.

TTFN

Sorry, clicked submit too fast.

GPS continues to come down in price and increase in performance. Hemisphere GPS advertises an OEM GPS board that has 2.5 m (95%) standalone positioning error and cm accuracy in DGPS mode for less than about $5K. But, it won't measure angles. Now, maybe you don't need angles, so ultimately, it's up to you to decide.

TTFN

I am an RLS in Tennessee and the one thing that I know of (in TN) is GPS is not an approved method of describing the property. You still need the Metes and Bounds system to use in the Colonial states. If it was me I would have a much easier time w/ the TS then the GPS because of the ease in not having to convert the GPS to metes and bounds.
Thats just me
John

the GPS wont work under tree cover or in buildings.