Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Graduate Engineer suddenly become main coordinator in a project

Status
Not open for further replies.

drago8

Civil/Environmental
Jun 26, 2015
BN
Hello all,

I am not sure whether this is a correct sub-forum I shall post. So here is the situation:

I was not following this one project from the earliest stage. (For info I am a graduate engineer). Currently we are in the construction stage. Now, due to some unforeseen circumstances, instead of this designer, I would be the one who take over i.e. attending the meeting etc.

My problem is how you gonna deal with the sudden responsibilty given to you? Since I am new in the working phase, maybe most of the questions they would ask that I might not be able to answer, then what should I do?

#LoveWins

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Try to familiarize yourself with all of the relevant documents. Spend the hours needed to read through all of the site instructions, various disciplines drawings, any sort of site reports, etc. You should have the most current documents printed out so that you can highlight the information that is relevant to whichever meetings you're attending. If someone who was involved in the project early on is still around you could ask them pointed questions about why changes were made, or if there were any unforeseen circumstances that came up throughout the earlier stages of the project. Something I like to keep in my back pocket is saying "That's a good question, I can take a look at that when I'm back in the office". It gives me room to think things over before giving an answer when I might not have all the information I need.