Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Graduate School in this slowing economy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yacobito

Electrical
Oct 22, 2008
US
I am currently an engineer with a M.S. in Electrical Engineering. I have been working for the past 5 years in the MEMS industry and was thinking of going back to school for my Ph.D. In today's slowing economy is this wise? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm tangentially involved in the nanotechnology sector and it seems PHD are highly valued in it, I assume this goes for Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems too.

As such a PHD might well be a good investment. By the time you graduate, hopefully, the economy will have at least started to rebound.

Do you have the money in the bank to live off, or would you be able to get any kind of sponsership/grant?

KENAT,

Have you reminded yourself of faq731-376 recently, or taken a look at

Might as well go now while things are slow, be ready for the next upswing. Of course, you'll have to compete with all the others losing their jobs and returning to school.

Thanks for the responses. It will not cost me anything to go as the University's I am applying to have pretty much guaranteed funding for Ph.D. students. That pays for tuition and will pay ~20-25K a year in return for research. I am married and my wife also has pretty good job working for Harvard University (clinical psychologist). We should be able to stay ahead while I am at school, just not be putting away as much as we have been the past couple of years.

Thanks again.

Jacob

Ciao all,