Graduate with option to work for "start-up" or "big international 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

indy1687

Aerospace
Mar 10, 2005
IE

Hi,

I am a new Mechanical Engineering graduate. I have qualified with a 2.1 and have been given two job offers.

The first is for a big international company. They have a three year graduate program which would give me experience in all their business units, there is opportunity for travel and the wage is excellent if not one of the best offered to graduates in my country.

The second is for a relatively small high-tech engineering company. It is bring a new product to the market. Hence it is transforming from an R&D company to an R&D and manufacturing company. The owners are great and I feel it would be a pleasure to work for them. The role they offer has a great deal of responsibility and is quite varied.

I want to get as much experience in engineering and management as I can in the next few years and attain the rank of a professional engineer. I see myself in a few years at attempting a start-up company.

My problem is this: Which option is best? Which option would benefit me more after a couple of years?

Regards

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Unfortunately, the answer is probably "both." However, since your second choice sounds more like what you want to do in the long run, that's the better choice. Learning all you from a start-up will prevent you from at least failing the same way. There are a million ways to fail, but only a few ways to succeed.

In a larger company, how things are run is less obvious, and whether things are run correctly is equally unobvious, at least in the short term.

I think the start-up will give you way more experience and insight than the same amount of calendar time in a bigger company.

TTFN

FAQ731-376

You can move from a large company at any time to a small one - the reverse is not always true.