Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

ground switching on transmission poles 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fire17

Electrical
Jun 26, 2024
US
Hello all, I'm a new Engineer for a utility power, and I'm trying to figure out what other alternatives is out there for ground mats or equi-potential mats, these suggestions come from the linemen when they find difficult to install these mats on transmission switching poles generally, one suggestion the made was to put ground butt plates in a perimeter as if there was a ground mat, if that makes sense.

Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

When a task is difficult, the professional tries harder.
Without knowing the reason for the difficulty it is difficult to suggest a solution.
The operator MUST be held at the same potential as the handle that he is operating.
That is the purpose of an equi-potential mat.
The equi-potential mat must be large enough that the operator is not able to operate the switch with either foot off of the mat.
Are there space limitations?
A possible solution may be a permanently installed custom sized mat that fills all of the available space, but without galvanic contact with any grounded object save the ground that it rests on.
BE aware of the possible liability in the event of an injury or fatality occurring should the custom mat not be installed correctly, not used correctly or not maintained correctly.
Your safety department should sign off on any solution.
I would include the following procedure:
Before use, the equi-potential mat must be checked with the following procedure:
1. The mat must be disconnected from the operating handle and the resistance to ground must be checked.
The resistance to ground must be above xxx Ohms.
2. The mat must be reconnected to the operating handle and the resistance between the mat and the operating handle must be checked.
The resistance between the operating handle and the equi-potential mat must be zero Ohms.