Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

guidance in the placement of electrical conduit pull boxes

Status
Not open for further replies.

sjgordon

Civil/Environmental
Apr 9, 2004
US
I am a civil engineer working in land development (large retail commercial site planning). As with most civil's my electrical knowledge is enough to make me dangerous. I rely on my colleagues experienced in electrical engineering for advice. On my current project I coordinated with our local electrical monopoly to run power from switch cabinet to transformer for the building. They could not give me too much reasoning as to the layout of the route. They only mentioned they had used a computer program to determine the location and number of pull boxes. This to me is an unfortunate trend I have seen lately, someone using software that the don't understand (VERY VERY SCARY). Anyways, that is an entirely different issue.

My question is some design guidance as to the placement of pull-boxes. The power must be run through the parking area, so all the pull boxes must be traffic rated, which are considerably expensive. I understand that there are many issues that must be considered when running the route avoiding other underground utilities, landscape islands, etc.

In order to come up with a design that is cost effective and not going to drive the electrician crazy, could someone please advise me where to look to find basic design criteria.

Much Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you