Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hand calculations

Status
Not open for further replies.

rideway

Mechanical
Nov 23, 2009
DE
thread727-296596

Hello everyone

Im a mechanical engineer and I have two-years FEA experience. I was talking the other day with a friend of mine about hand calculations in order to make sure that the FEA results agree with what the classical theory says.

But normally for my analysis I just need to do equilibrium checks and only once I calculated a beamed structure which I could model as a free body diagram so I could check the results.

I would like to know, for static analysis, which hand calculations do you perform on a daily basis in your calculations?

BR

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

basic buckling of thin panels classical solutions against non linear or buckling analysis. Also general P/A +/- M/Z for nominal stresses in members etc.

personally i wouldn't do equilibrium cheacks. normally i have load and reaction sets and my constraints react rigid body motion; but i still check that these are small. normally i'll take loads from the model and determine stress by hand. often i'll start my model in a very simple state, so i can check it by hand (hoop stress in a fuselage).