Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hands-on training?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chemist2engineer

Materials
Aug 13, 2012
US
Hi all,
I am new to the forum, found it after googling composite learning. I recently started working in aerospace industry. I am learning how to make phenolic resin and pre-preg for making honeycomb sandwich panel.
I was a very bio-related chemist before I started this work.
Just wondering, if anyone has suggestion in where to learn basic knowledge of composite material, especially in pre-pregs.
I have planned to take classes in Cerritos College in Composite. Has anyone taken classes there before?
It was a sudden path change in my early career. I am in my 20s.

Thank you for all the suggestions. :)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The Cerritos program is geared toward producing composite lay-up technicians for the aerospace companies. It would be helpful to know how parts are fabricated when you are developing materials to make parts. But you will not learn much about how to formulate prepregs or resin chemistry.