Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

hard time understanding management 11

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffcivil2

Civil/Environmental
Feb 18, 2008
US
I'm a civil engineer with about 4.5 years experience having a hard time at work that's causing emotional stress and need to seek some advice.

I work in a small civil engineering/landscape architecture firm. The two owners of the company are both seniors and do most of the work. They don't trust anyone else and are very age discriminatory. The problem that I am having is that my work ethic is constantly being question by them in the form of rude remarks. I am upset with this because I don't have a lot of work because they don't ever delegate work for me to do. They have a crappy way of management where they walk around and say "what are you working on?" I find this to be very arrogant such that I want to blurt out "you tell me, you're supposed to be my manager". I've had this problem with another engineering firm I worked for. There is a complete lack of management.

I'm so upset I'm thinking of changing careers and I'm thinking that NO WONDER engineers are the lowest on the totum pole as far as pay scale profession-wide. In my opinion they shouldn't have to ask me if i'm busy or when I'll be done. If they really were half-decent managers they would pile stuff on me instead. I asked my boss once why he didn't just pile stuff on my desk and his response was: "because we're trying to gauge your progress".

I've gotten to the point where I really don't care about this job or this profession.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The skills required to be a good manager are not the same skills required to be a good engineer.

Some people have both sets of skills, many have one or the other (and many neither).

It certainly sounds like your bosses now and in the past haven't been good managers.

Don't condemn the entire industry or profession for the incompetence of a few individuals.