Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Headcut erodibility modeling software and general pond design software

Status
Not open for further replies.

NTEIT

Civil/Environmental
Dec 9, 2011
US
Hello,

I am somewhat new to the world of hydrology and pond design, but have recently became interested in offering pond design services. I have done quite a bit of recent research on the subject, and had extensive education in the hydrology department several years ago.

I have been researching different software that helps with the following:
1. Mapping software that allows easy preliminary inspection of USGS topography, aerials, and soils data, to define prime locations
2. CAD software that allows for 3d modeling of existing surveyed grade and proposed design, to calculate cut-fill balance, as well as aid in geotechnical feasibility studies
3. Hydrology software that calculates SCS method runnoff, staging, and outlet structure sizing of single ponds

For items 1 and 2, I am battling between three setups: Autocad Civil 3D, Carlson Civil Suite, and Carlson Takeoff R6

For item 3 I have evaluated several programs such as HEC-HMS, HydroCAD, Hydraflow, and "SITES" (by NRCS). After reading numerous bad reviews, I have thrown out the possibility of Bently-Haestead software.

Our target client is high end recreational/agricultural property owners looking for pond design consulting.
Most all of our designs have been comprised of a either a riser pipe or a siphon pipe for primary spillway, with an earth trapezoidal weir auxillary spillway.