Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Heat energy conversion

Status
Not open for further replies.

deltawhy

Electrical
Jun 1, 2011
CA
Hello,
I am an engineer currently in the design stage of a solar heat engine.

My question is two parts:
1. As I live in Canada, ambient temperatures fall pretty low during the winter months. Being that my background is electrical, I don't know much about stirling engines (carnot cycle). As the output of a stirling engine depends on the temperature differential, will it still work if t1 = -20 deg C, and t2 = +10 deg C?

2. Does anyone have any better ideas of converting heat to electrical energy (cheaply and quietly) other than external heat engines?

Thanks for your time,

Daniel

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Stirling engines will work on very low temperature differentials...but because of this low delta T, the flow of heat through the system is very slow, and hence produces very low wattages at low delta T's. The only way to compensate for this is to either increase the temp. difference (in your case that would be a solar concentrator setup) or by making the engine larger to increase the net flow of heat energy through the system.

The latter option becomes unfeasible rather quickly due to the power/weight ratio being incredibly low, and due to the limitations of heat transfer through the working fluid. As you scale it up it either just stops working or becomes insanely expensive to build. This is typically why you don't see Stirling engines everywhere, because in theory they are very very efficient from a thermodynamic standpoint, but the design is not feasible for scaling up.