Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Heating of a Ceiling Plenum

Status
Not open for further replies.

bsrd

Structural
Jul 2, 2009
US
I am in the process of hiring design professionals for overdue maintenance to about a 15,000 sqft office building that was built in 1980. After doing some investigation I realized that the ceiling plenum is being heated by two or three RTUs and then a large air handler brings in the heated air and distributes this through a duct system. The air handler is also used for cooling. I am a professional engineer (primarily structural and civil)and don't pretend to be an expert in HVAC but this just doesn't seem right. Is something like this still allowed by code. I have never seen anything like this before.

Thanks for your comments in advance.

Boyd

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You mean the RTU dum the heated/cooled air into the plenume and from there separate AHU move that air into the spaces via ducts?
Do those AHU heat or cool in addition, or are just AHU with fans (no coils)

the only explanation would be the RTU are DOAS for outside air and the AHU operate to condition the space. Even then, it wouldn't be good practice to dump air into the plenum.

Obviously we don't see what is going on, but what you describe doesn't seem to be good practice. I don't know if at the time of construction there was a code in your jurisdiction that would have prohibited a bad practice. the code cares about safety, health and in some cases energy efficiency. The latter would be a problem with such odd design. I hope the HVAC professional you are about to hire can give you better advice.